Classical Awards Nominating Committee

The Classical Awards Nominating Committee includes a diverse group of individuals from every aspect of the classical piano world; teachers, administrators, industry professionals, and pianists, including Gilmore Artists. They privately recommend worthy artists for the Gilmore Artist and Gilmore Young Artist awards. These names are then reviewed by the Classical Awards Advisory Committee.

  • Lydia Artymiw – Pianist, Emerita Distinguished McKnight Professor of Piano, University of Minnesota
  • Emanuel Ax – Pianist, Faculty, Juilliard School
  • Sergei Babayan – Pianist, Faculty, Cleveland Institute of Music, Juilliard School
  • Bruce Brubaker – Chair, Piano Department, New England Conservatory of Music
  • Philip Brunelle – American choral scholar, conductor and organist. Founder of VocalEssence
  • Wha Kyung Byun – Professor of Piano, New England Conservatory of Music
  • Vivian Chiu – Director of Cultural Partnerships & Artist Services, Steinway & Sons
  • Lara Downes — Pianist, Host of NPR’s “Amplify with Lara Downes”
  • Afa Dworkin – President and Artistic Director, Sphinx
  • James Fahey – Senior Director of Programming, Symphony Center Presents/Chicago Symphony Orchestra
  • Anthony Fogg – Artistic Administrator, Boston Symphony Orchestra and Director of Tanglewood
  • Peter Froundjian – President, Director. “Rarities of Piano” Music Festival, Germany
  • Adriaan Fuchs – Director, Festivals and Special Projects, Carnegie Hall
  • Leila Getz – Founder and Artistic Director, Vancouver Recital Society
  • John Gilhooly – Artistic and Executive Director, Wigmore Hall
  • Pavel Gililov – Pianist, Artistic Director. International Telekom Beethoven Competition Bonn
  • Ralf Gothóni – 1994 Gilmore Artist, Pianist & Conductor
  • Gary Graffman – Pianist, Retired Faculty, Curtis Institute of Music
  • Wu Han – Artistic Director, Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center
  • Angela Hewitt – Pianist
  • Árni Ingólfsson – Artistic Advisor, Iceland Symphony Orchestra and Visiting Professor, Iceland Academy of the Arts
  • Hyoung Joon – Professor of Piano, Seoul National University, South Korea
  • Rachel Kudo – 2008 Gilmore Young Artist
  • Marina Lomazov – Professor of Piano, Eastman School of Music
  • Jerome Lowenthal – Piano Faculty, The Juilliard School
  • Anne-Marie McDermott – Pianist, Artistic Director, Bravo Vail
  • Gabriela Montero – Pianist
  • Chi-Chi Nwonaku – Founder, Artistic & Executive Director, Chineke! Foundation
  • Ursula Oppens – Pianist, Distinguished Professor of Music at Brooklyn College and the CUNY Graduate Center in New York City; piano faculty at Mannes College, The New School
  • David Owen Norris – 1991 Gilmore Artist
  • Awadagin Pratt – Pianist, Professor of Piano, College-Conservatory of Music.
  • Victor Rosenbaum – Faculty, former Chair, New England Conservatory of Music
  • Dr. Paul Shaw – Pianist, Associate Professor, University of Minnesota
  • Mary Sigmond – President, The Frederic Chopin Society (Minnesota)
  • Logan Skelton – Professor of Piano, University of Michigan
  • Damien Sneed – Pianist, vocalist, organist, composer, conductor, arranger, producer, and arts educator
  • Peter Takacs – Professor of Piano, Oberlin College and Conservatory
  • Natalia Trull – Professor at the Moscow Tchaikovsky Conservatory
  • Tamas Ungar – Professor of Piano, Texas Christian University
  • Mark Williams – Chief Executive Officer, Toronto Symphony Orchestra
  • Eleanor Wong – Professor of Piano, Hong Kong Academy of Arts
  • Hyoung Joon Chang – Professor of Piano, Seoul National University
  • Katrin Zagrosek – General Manager, International Bach Academy Stuttgart
  • Tang Zhe – Professor of Piano, Vice Dean, Shanghai Conservatory of Music

Buy Tickets

Join us for our in person and virtual events!

Learn More

All content © 2022 Irving S. Gilmore International Piano Festival