The Gilmore Awards

Gilmore Artist Award

The Gilmore Artist Award recognizes extraordinary piano artistry with some of the most generous financial support given in the musical arts. The $300,000 award is conferred every four years to an international pianist of any age and nationality following a rigorous and confidential selection process.

Sometimes referred to as music’s answer to the MacArthur Foundation “genius grants,” the Gilmore Artist Award is made through a non-competitive process. Pianists are nominated by a large and diverse group of international music professionals. An anonymous, six-member Artistic Advisory Committee appraises the nominees over a period of time and assesses their musicianship and performing abilities through numerous performances under varying conditions. Throughout the four-year process, candidates for the Award are unaware they are under consideration.

Rafał Blechacz (2014)


Kirill Gerstein (2010)


Ingrid Fliter (2006)


Piotr Anderszewski (2002)


Leif Ove Andsnes (1998)


Ralf Gothóni (1994)


David Owen Norris (1991)


« Back to the Awards page

More from The Gilmore

Keyboard Festival

2018 Festival Events

Support The Gilmore

Make a Year-End Gift

Stay in Touch

Join Our Email List!